Play: an 18U event is playing under our Time Limit Rule. They are starting the Loser bracket final which is after the Winner’s Bracket final and the umpire reminds them of our One Hour twenty-minute time limit and play one more inning is in effect.
Ruling: This ruling is incorrect. Our Time Limit Rule also says Exception: There shall be no time on elimination play beginning with the winner’s bracket final. Rule 5, Section 10B Exception.
Play: No one out. R1 is on 2B and R2 is on 1B. With a 2-2 count on B3 both runners attempt to steal. R2 is obstructed between 1B and 2B but reaches 2B without being put out. R1 does not feel that they will reach 3B safely and retreats to 2B. Both R1 and R2 are standing on 2B. The defensive player tags both runners.
Ruling: Once R2 is tagged while standing on 2B the umpire should call dead ball and enforce obstruction. Since R2 was obstructed between 1B and 2B they are protected except for five situations. The situation of having two runners on a base is not one of those exceptions. The umpire now has to use judgement as to where R2 would have reached had there been no obstruction. If the umpire decides they would not have made 2B then R2 should be put back on 1B and R1 on 2B. However, if the umpire judges R2 would have reached 2B had there been no obstruction then award R2 2B and move R1 up to third base. This ruling is based on the fact we should always award the obstructed runner the base they would have reached had there been no obstruction and all other runners the base they would have reached, in the judgement of the umpire had there been no obstruction.
In this play since R2 was obstructed between 1B and 2B and R2 made 2B on their own, it would be understandable if the umpires ruled R2 is awarded 2B and advance R1 to 3B. Rule 8, Section 5B [1-4]
Play: R1 on 1B. No outs. B2 hits a gapper to right-center. R1 rounds 2B and is obstructed between 2B and 3B while attempting to advance to 3rd. Umpire signals delayed dead ball to signal the obstruction. The throw from the outfield comes to F5 at 3B and R1 is tagged out. Umpire calls time. Umpire judges that R1 would not have reached 3B even if there were no obstruction. B4 is standing on 2nd with a double. Where do you place the runners?
Ruling: The award of the base you would have reached is based on the obstructed runner. If you thought the obstructed runner would have reached 3B then B2 would have stayed at 2B. However, in this case since you have ruled that R1, the obstructed runner, would have only reached to 2B then award R1 2B and place B2 back on 1B. Rule 8, Section 5B [1-4], Rule 8, Section 5G Note.